The deadline to nominate a candidate for the award has been extended to Friday, April 10, 2020.

The Preservation Alumni Leadership Award is presented annually to an outstanding graduate of Columbia University’s Historic Preservation Program who has contributed significantly to the preservation field, while devoting his or her time and talents to support the mission of Preservation Alumni. This award recognizes our community’s leaders who are an essential part of keeping preservation relevant and innovative, as well as ensuring that the alumni network remains strong and accessible to current students. The award is presented at PA’s annual spring party.

Since the inaugural Preservation Alumni Leadership Award in 2015, PA has presented the award to Frank Emile Sanchis III, Director of U.S. Programs at World Monuments Fund and PA’s founding president; Andrew Dolkart, the former director of Columbia’s Historic Preservation Program; Chicago-based architect Gunny Harboe; Kevin Lee Sarring, architect for the U.S. State Department, Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations; and New York-based architect Mary Dierickx. You can learn more about past winners here.

Please send your nominations for the 2020 Preservation Alumni Leadership Award to by Friday, April 10, 2020. Any questions about the award or nomination process can also be sent to this address. 

Information should include:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Nominee’s graduation year from Columbia’s historic preservation program
  • A short paragraph describing why this person should receive the 2020 Preservation Alumni Leadership Award

All nominations will be reviewed by the Preservation Alumni Board.

Subscribe to the Preservation Alumni Newsletter