Preservation Alumni announces a call for submissions for the 2017 Cleo & James Marston Fitch Thesis Grant

The Cleo & James Marston Fitch Thesis Grant was established in 2001, and is made possible by a bequest from James Marston Fitch, the founder of the Historic Preservation program at Columbia University. The grant is named in honor of Dr. Fitch and his wife, Cleo Rickman Fitch. It is awarded annually to a Columbia University Historic Preservation thesis candidate for mid-year thesis research or travel; the grant amount will not exceed $500.

If you are interested in applying for the grant, please send an email to The email should include the Subject Header: Fitch Thesis Grant Submission. Please attach one PDF with the following information:

-Thesis Abstract
-Student’s name and email address
-Name of Thesis Advisor
-Description of how the grant money will be/was used, including line item estimates for cost.
-The Fitch Grant may be used in conjunction with other moneys for travel and research. Therefore, please also submit any other money that you have been awarded and a detailed description of the use of that money.

Submission Deadline: Friday, April 14
Questions may also be sent to the above email address.


The Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America - Columbia University

The new Weinberg Scholarship, run in conjunction with the International Observatory for Cultural Heritage, will allow two to four fellowships to be awarded each year that focus on the understanding and conservation of architecture in any geographic area and period. To read the guidelines and to apply, please visit the Academy's website.

Harvard University Graduate School of Design

The Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD) has announced the fifth cycle of the Wheelwright Prize, an open international competition that awards $100,000 annually to a talented early-career architect to support travel-based research. The 2017 Wheelwright Prize is now accepting applications. Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2017. This annual prize is dedicated to fostering new forms of architectural research informed by cross-cultural engagement. More information can be found here.



Now Accepting Applications for 2017 Funding

Since 1989, the James Marston Fitch Charitable Foundation has been in the vanguard of historic preservation practice and theory. The mission of the Fitch Foundation is to support professionals in the field of historic preservation, landscape architecture, urban design, environmental planning, materials conservation, decorative arts, architectural design and history, and allied fields.

Applications for 2017 funding are now being accepted. Applications must be submitted by October 26, 2016, 11:00pm EST.  Visit for more information. 


H. Allen Brooks Travelling Fellowship
Deadline: 3 October 2016

The Society of Architectural Historians is accepting applications for the 2016 H. Allen Brooks Travelling Fellowship. The prestigious fellowship of $50,000 will allow a recent graduate or emerging scholar to study by travel for one year. The fellowship is not for the purpose of doing research for a book or an advanced degree. Instead, the goals are to provide an opportunity for the recipient to see and experience architecture and landscapes firsthand, to think about his/her profession deeply, and to acquire knowledge useful for his/her future work and contribution to society.

The H. Allen Brooks Travelling Fellowship is open to a scholar who will earn a PhD or advanced terminal degree in the first half of 2016 (by June 30, 2016) or an emerging scholar who was awarded a PhD or advanced terminal degree in 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, or 2011 in a field related to the history of the built environment. Such degrees include PhDs in the history, theory or criticism of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning; or other fields of advanced study related to the history of the built environment including an MArch, MUP, MLA or a master's in historic preservation program. This is an international fellowship so candidates from any country may apply. All applicants must be current members of the Society of Architectural Historians. 

The deadline to apply is October 3, 2016. Visit for more information and to apply. 

Read blog posts from past Brooks Travelling Fellows:

Copyright © 2011-2013 Preservation Alumni, Inc.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software